"a deeply original debut novel... Wickedly funny and knowing"

- Alexander Chee
 

"Chou's pen is a scalpel"

- Raven Leilani
 

Chou_Disorientation_ann_sq_rd2_C.jpeg

"a joyous and sharply drawn caper"

- Cathy Park Hong
 

"packed full of sly truths about race, love, and life in general"

- Aravind Adiga

PRE-ORDER

A Taiwanese American woman’s coming-of-consciousness ignites eye-opening revelations and chaos on a college campus in this outrageously hilarious and startlingly tender debut novel

Twenty-nine-year-old PhD student Ingrid Yang is desperate to finish her dissertation on the late canonical poet Xiao-Wen Chou and never read about “Chinese-y” things again. But after four years of grueling research, she has only anxiety and stomach pain to show for her efforts. When she accidentally stumbles upon a strange and curious note in the Chou archives, she convinces herself it’s her ticket out of academic hell.
 
But Ingrid’s in much deeper than she thinks. Her clumsy exploits to unravel the note’s message lead to an explosive discovery, upending her entire life and the lives of those around her. With her trusty friend Eunice Kim by her side and her rival Vivian Vo hot on her tail, together they set off a roller coaster of mishaps and misadventures, from campus protests and OTC drug hallucinations, to book burnings and Yellow Peril propaganda.
 
In the aftermath, nothing looks the same to Ingrid, including her gentle and doting fiancé, Stephen Greene. When he embarks on a book tour with the super kawaii Japanese author he’s translated, doubts and insecurities creep in for the first time... As the events Ingrid instigated keep spiraling, she’ll have to confront her sticky relationship to white men and white institutions—and, most of all, herself.
 
For readers of Paul Beatty's The Sellout and Charles Yu's Interior Chinatown, this uproarious and bighearted satire is a blistering send-up of privilege and power, and a profound reckoning of individual complicity and unspoken rage. In this electrifying debut novel from a provocative new voice, Chou asks who gets to tell our stories—and how the story changes when we finally tell it ourselves.

25 of the most anticipated books coming out next year - buzzfeed

The most anticipated books of 2022 - BUstle

The 15 best and most anticipated books of 2022 - good housekeeping

Hot and fresh: 60 highly anticipated debut novels - goodreads

24 books we're looking forward to in 2022 - nylon

61 books to read by women of color - electric lit

Most anticipated: the great first-half 2022 book preview - the millions

Cover art by Aleia Murawski & Sam Copeland